Dealing with Celiac

For whatever reason, I am sensing that celiac disease, or the allergy to gluten, is on the increase. It maybe that we are just hearing about it much more that we used to, or perhaps people are finding a diagnosis earlier, and the medical profession is more easily able to identify the disease.Whatever the reason, the seriousness of the disease requires a serious attack on its causes, and how we can avoid its effects.  I am hopeful that the medical research community will soon be able to find a cure,or, at least, some kind of  relief of the symptoms caused by ingesting gluten.  In the meantime, it is necessary for us to be able to live with it by avoiding the symptoms caused by gluten sensitivity.As most gluten sensitive people know, gluten is a component of grains such as wheat, barley, rye, oats and their products.  These foods are easy to avoid as they are straightforward.  But what  is tricky for gluten sensitive people are the hidden grains in foods that we least suspect.  It is critical that those who gluten sensitive be always vigilant by carefully reading labels on the food packages they purchase.  One cannot relax, thinking that a product they have purchased in the past is safe and gluten free.  The reason for that is that food manufacturers have no qualms about changing the ingredients in their products.  They will, unthinkingly, add a substance containing gluten that is dangerous for those with celiac disease.  For example,  manufacturers will add a stabilizer or a new flavoring or a food coloring that contains gluten. I don't accuse them of doing so deliberately, but they do it without thinking about the millions of Americans who cannot tolerate gluten in their food.Gluten sensitive people find it necessary to educate themselves about terminology used by manufacturers on their labels.  Even some toothpastes contain gluten, as well as seemingly innocent products as some children's play dough.Some labels do not spell out the fact that the ingredients contain gluten, but if you get to know the terminology used by manufacturers, you can avoid damage to your system.  Her are some ingredients that may contain gluten, without warning:Starch,  Hydrolyzed wheat gluten, Semolina, Anti-caking ingredients, Modified food starch, Emulsifiers, Flavoring, Mono-sodium glutamate, Modified food starch, Some soy sauce, depending on how it is made, Malt vinegar, Some beers and Bottled salad dressing.In next week's  blog, I will show steps that gluten sensitive person should takes and what to replace wheat or barley with in his or her  bread, salads, main dishes and desserts. Now here is a recipe for gluten free date bars.IF YOU HAVE A QUESTION OR  REQUEST FOR A RECIPE FROM SANAA JUST WRITE ME A COMMENT.Gluten Free Date Barsmake 12 bars1/2       cup un-salted butter1            cup white sorghum flour1/2       cup hazelnut flour2            tablespoons white sugar1/2       teaspoon ground cardamom1           cup brown sugar1           cup walnuts, chopped8           ounces chopped dates3          eggs1          tablespoon white sorghum flour1/2     teaspoon baking soda1         tablespoon vanilla extract1/2    teaspoon saltTo make the crust:-Mix white sorghum flour with the hazelnut flour, white sugar and cardamom.  Add the butter and blend until you have coarse dough.-Press the dough firmly into the bottom of a 9-inch square cake pan.  Bake in a 350 degree oven for 10 minutes.  Remove from the oven and allow to cool for 15 minutes.To make the bars:-Mix the brown sugar with the chopped walnuts, the chopped dates, 1 tablespoon of white sorghum flour, the baking soda and the salt.-Whisk the eggs and vanilla extract, and then add to the date mixture.  Mix until well blended.-Pour the date batter over the baked crust.  Tap the baking pan gently.  Bake in a 375 degree oven for 35 minutes.-Remove from the oven, place on a rack and allow it to cool for a couple of hours.-Refrigerate for 30 minutes.  Cut into 2-inch squares.